Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Internet Explorer 8 (32 and 64-bit) don't show in Secure Browsing

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
Jesant13 Internet Explorer 8 (32 and 64-bit) don't show in Secure Browsing
Member 14th Mar, 2011 21:35
Ranking: -3
Posts: 40
User Since: 10th Sep, 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
I first noticed yesterday that Secunia PSI is failing to detect Internet Explorer 8 in "Secure Browsing." Before yesterday, Mozilla Firefox 3.6, Internet Explorer 8, and Internet Explorer 8 (64-bit) were showing up, but now, on Mozilla Firefox 3.6 shows up.

I installed Google Earth 6 on March 12. I'm mentioning this because I noticed this problem started one day after I installed it.

I am using version 2.0.0.3001. According to the download page, the latest version is 2.0. I had reinstalled Secunia PSI on the second day of March this year to fix a problem where the Secunia PSI interface wouldn't load.

I don't understand why this problem is occurring and I would like help to try to fix this problem.

- Jesant13

Post "RE: Internet Explorer 8 (32 and 64-bit) don't show in Secure Browsing" has been selected as an answer.
Maurice Joyce RE: Internet Explorer 8 (32 and 64-bit) don't show in Secure Browsing
Handling Contributor 14th Mar, 2011 23:00
Score: 11581
Posts: 8,895
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I have just rolled back to IE8 from IE9 RC ready for the RTM release of IE9 tomorrow (UK Time)

It does appear that IE8 has gone "walkies" from the Secure Browser section.

Maybe someone else using IE8 can confirm if they have the same problem which is fairly important to XP users who will not have the option to install IE9.

@Jesant13 - sorry not much help to U except to confirm U are not the only one with missing data.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Jesant13 RE: Internet Explorer 8 (32 and 64-bit) don't show in Secure Browsing
Member 14th Mar, 2011 23:55
Score: -3
Posts: 40
User Since: 10th Sep 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Thanks for your response. I'm glad to know that I'm not the only one having problems.

Thank you also for saying that IE9 will be released tomorrow. I didn't know that.

I'm wondering if upgrading to IE9 will fix the problem. I plan on waiting for IE9 to become available in Windows Update before I upgrade, so it might be a while.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Internet Explorer 8 (32 and 64-bit) don't show in Secure Browsing
Expert Contributor 15th Mar, 2011 00:43
Score: 2425
Posts: 3,314
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi ,

Both IE 8 and Ff 3.6.15 are displaying correctly in "secure browsing" on my XP SP3 system .

Good night .

Anthony



--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Internet Explorer 8 (32 and 64-bit) don't show in Secure Browsing
Member 15th Mar, 2011 08:21
Last edited on 15th Mar, 2011 08:21 Hi,

If you run a full rescan, it should be detected yet again.
Is this the case?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Internet Explorer 8 (32 and 64-bit) don't show in Secure Browsing
Handling Contributor 15th Mar, 2011 12:39
Score: 11581
Posts: 8,895
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
@Jesant

See this thread http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/785...

Go for it!

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Jesant13 RE: Internet Explorer 8 (32 and 64-bit) don't show in Secure Browsing
Member 15th Mar, 2011 13:54
Score: -3
Posts: 40
User Since: 10th Sep 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Anthony Wells: Thank you for your response.

E.Petersen: Thank you for your response. I did a full scan and now everything is detected again in Secure Browsing. Problem fixed!

Maurice Joyce: Thanks for your response, but E.Petersen's post allowed me to fix the problem. Internet Explorer 9 is still not available through Windows Update (I'm waiting until it is before I install it) and as the problem has been resolved, an update isn't necessary at this point.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability