Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Unable to access Secunia OSI

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
OSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
jpcummins Unable to access Secunia OSI
Member 22nd Mar, 2011 20:44
Ranking: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 19th Dec, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
My operating system is Windows XP Pro, SP3.

Started yesterday, whenever I attempt to access Secunia OSI the following message pops up.

The publisher cannot be verified by a trusted source
Code will be treated as unsigned.

Name: Secunia Software Inspector

sun.security.validator. ValidatorException: PKIX path validation failed:
java.security.cert. CertPathValidatorException: Must specify the location of an OCSP Responder

I have no idea what this message means. I removed my Java from Add/Remove programs but when I tried to access Secunia OSI I was told that Java was needed. I am lost. Any assistance that can be given to me will be most appreciated. I appreciate all replies and would thank you in advance.

John

mogs RE: Unable to access Secunia OSI
Expert Contributor 22nd Mar, 2011 21:22
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello.
You will see from System Requirements for OSI here; that Java is required :-
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/online/s...
Hope it helps.....regards,

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-1
jpcummins RE: Unable to access Secunia OSI
Member 22nd Mar, 2011 22:13
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 19th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 22nd Mar, 2011 22:31
mogs,

I neglected to say that after I had removed java from my system that I then downloaded and installed jre-6u24-windows-i586 which I understand is the latest version. At least when I visit the java website and check my version the reply is that it is the latest.

John
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Unable to access Secunia OSI
Expert Contributor 22nd Mar, 2011 22:40
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Last edited on 22nd Mar, 2011 22:46
John.
The latest Java :-
Download Java for Windows
Recommended Version6 Update 24 (filesize: ~ 10 MB)
http://www.java.com/en/download/ie_manual.jsp?loca...

Hope it helps.......

EDIT....just looking at your post again...you've edited from 23 to 24 and, or updated again ?



--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
jpcummins RE: Unable to access Secunia OSI
Member 23rd Mar, 2011 03:02
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 19th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
mogs,

Appears to be the same one I have. I didn't update from 23 to 24 I made a typing error.

I am almost to the point of giving up. My current java appears to be working fine elsewhere, US Time Clock as an example:

http://www.time.gov/timezone.cgi?Eastern/d/-5/java

The message appears to be from java and refers to "an OCSP Responder" any idea what that is?

Thanks for trying to help, I appreciate it very much.

John
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Unable to access Secunia OSI
Expert Contributor 23rd Mar, 2011 07:56
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
"Morning" John.
Sorry.....can't help with understanding that message.
Have you read thro' the FAQ's for OSI here ?:-
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/online/f...
The following is an extract from....have you tried accessing OSI with an alternative browser ?
Why do I get an "Unable to load Java applet" error every time I try to access the Secunia OSI?
This error can be caused by a variety of reasons:

You do not have the minimum version of Java installed. You need Sun Java JRE 1.6.x or later installed in your system. To check if you have the latest version, go to www.java.com.
If you have the latest version installed, check if you can access other websites that use Java.
If you cannot access other websites that use Java, then this is likely a compatibility problem between your browser and your Java plug-in. Please refer to your browser documentation for more informaton, or use an alternative browser to access the Secunia OSI.
If you can access other websites but not the Secunia OSI, please refer to 16) below for instructions on how to submit errors to Secunia.


Hope it helps......

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-1
Maurice Joyce RE: Unable to access Secunia OSI
Handling Contributor 23rd Mar, 2011 11:14
Score: 11793
Posts: 9,036
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
John,
This gives the background (but refers to Windows Server 2008 R2) to the error message. Might help U locate the cause.

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc77041...(WS.10).aspx

Fair bit on this subject dependant on your OS here:

http://www.bing.com/search?q=an+OCSP+Responder&src...

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-1
ddmarshall RE: Unable to access Secunia OSI
Dedicated Contributor 23rd Mar, 2011 12:06
Score: 1212
Posts: 965
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
Last edited on 23rd Mar, 2011 12:10
Basically, you have been unable to access the Certificate Authority to check if the OSI applet you have downloaded is correctly signed. You may be experiencing a temporary problem accessing the Thawte server.

The way to bypass this checking is shown here: http://www.mkyong.com/java/must-specify-the-locati...

Here's the relevent section from the Java programmer's guide, if anyone's interested.
http://download.oracle.com/javase/6/docs/technotes...

There was also an update to root certificates for XP yesterday - KB931125. I don't think that's related.

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
jpcummins RE: Unable to access Secunia OSI
Member 23rd Mar, 2011 16:44
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 19th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Today everything is as it should be; definitely not something I did. I know just enough to get myself into trouble. I can only guess that it had something to do with the certificate. I access Secunia OSI on at least a weekly basis. I would be lost without that capability. It definitely helps to keep my system up to date. I want to thank everyone who replied to my call for help.

John
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer