Forum Thread: User interface fails to come up (probably related to IE 9

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
rdcook01 User interface fails to come up (probably related to IE 9
Member 24th Mar, 2011 15:13
Ranking: 0
Posts: 15
User Since: 25th Oct, 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
The background process is running. It advises me that I have two insecure programs. It has gone from one to two this morning.

When I attempt to open the interface it does not change. there is no progress indicator for the calling home or whatever it does for the first 10-20 seconds.

Running Win7(64) behind a router/firewall. No changes in the network. I did install IE 9 a couple of days ago. It is not my default browser. My default browser is Firefox 3.6.15. changing to 3.6.16, probably the new insecure program listed today.

Further investigation in the midst of writing this indicates some difficulty with IE 9. When I try to open it the window flashes on the screen and either closes or minimizes.

Am in pursuit.


--
r cook
S. Indiana

Anthony Wells RE: User interface fails to come up (probably related to IE 9
Expert Contributor 25th Mar, 2011 18:39
Score: 2470
Posts: 3,359
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi ,

How are you coming along ??

The PSI needs for IE to be correctly set up (irrespective of your choice of default browser) as it uses the embedded IE engine in order for it to connect to the Secunia servers and for the GUI , etc., to function correctly .

Check that you have all the correct settings in your "new" IE 9 as per ;-

http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
rdcook01 RE: User interface fails to come up (probably related to IE 9
Member 26th Mar, 2011 18:19
Score: 0
Posts: 15
User Since: 25th Oct 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
It was a broken install of IE 9. I ended up rolling back to a 3-19 backup and then reinstalling IE 9. Everything is now fine. Strange, because I even used IE 9 a little after I upgraded.

system restore crashed trying to go back prior to IE9 and later system recovery spliced some parts together for IE. It even grafted in a few pieces from IE8 beta, which I never installed.

As always restoring a backup is always interesting. They tell you to test your ability to restore when you make backups. My last test of restoring backups was with Vista a year or so ago. It changed a little with Win 7.

--
r cook
S. Indiana
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: User interface fails to come up (probably related to IE 9
Expert Contributor 27th Mar, 2011 14:40
Score: 2470
Posts: 3,359
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi ,

Thanks for letting us know your "progress" !! Pleased to learn you got things sorted :))

My ability is severely tested as soon as I press the big button on the front of my PC's tower and it sets all sorts of lights , sounds and hidden things in motion :((((

Take care

Anthony


--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.