Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: IE7, Firefox4

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
This user no longer exists IE7, Firefox4
Member 27th Mar, 2011 17:52
Ranking: 0
Posts: 50
User Since: 1st Jan, 1970
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 27th Mar, 2011 17:55

after installing firefox4 and ie9, data doesn't show up on safe browsing page in secunia psi 2.0

Maurice Joyce RE: IE7, Firefox4
Handling Contributor 27th Mar, 2011 17:59
Score: 11743
Posts: 9,000
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Cannot speak for Firefox.

IE9 will not. The Secunia Developers are still working on issues created by its release to RTM.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
ddmarshall RE: IE7, Firefox4
Dedicated Contributor 27th Mar, 2011 19:01
Score: 1209
Posts: 961
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
I can confirm Firefox 4 hasn't appeared in secure browsing yet.

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Anthony Wells RE: IE7, Firefox4
Expert Contributor 27th Mar, 2011 19:04
Score: 2445
Posts: 3,332
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 27th Mar, 2011 19:08
Here is some more info :-



Edit : Sorry wrong link : this is it :-

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/792...

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mrfredcy RE: IE7, Firefox4
Member 28th Mar, 2011 22:02
Score: -1
Posts: 1
User Since: 13th Oct 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I was a regular user of earlier Firefox. I installed Firefox4 just over a week ago, 2 days later, I had to remove it. Whenever I used Firefox4, the CPU became way too high, consistently between 60% and 90%.
There was two processes which contributed to this, Firefox4 and "vsmon" (a component of "ZoneAlarm")
I am currently using IE8 as my default browser, and the computer is again stable.

Regards,
Fred Belfitt
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-1
Anthony Wells RE: IE7, Firefox4
Expert Contributor 29th Mar, 2011 15:00
Score: 2445
Posts: 3,332
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

f
Fred ,

I run Ff 4.0 under Zone Alarm with no problem - never had any with earlier versions of Ff .

Depending on your Zone Alarm version and security settings settings then vsmon.exe and firefox.exe may use a lot of CPU at Ff load ; the former will be dependant on your security level settings and the latter depends on how many add-ons you are running in Ff . A "normal" system CPU will drop right back when the firefox.exe memory usage is maximised and the GUI is stable .

If they both stay running high when Ff is connected to the internet but is not doing much - just a tab or so - then you would need to check the Mozilla or Zone Alarm Forums for help .

Take care

Anthony



--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability