Forum Thread:

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
All Threads

This user no longer exists
Member 1st Jan, 1970 01:00
Ranking: 0
Posts: 0
User Since: 1st Jan, 1970
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 1st Jan, 1970 01:00


mogs RE: Scan Not Working
Member 4th Apr, 2011 08:59
Score:
Posts: 6,279
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Hello.
Have you checked thro' the more recent FAQ's here :-
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...
Particularly the settings here, and those for XP nearer the end of :-
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...
Have you made any changes with your Security set-up.....checked that your firewall permissions allow Secunia ?

Hope it helps.....regards,

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Scan Not Working
Expert Contributor 4th Apr, 2011 12:28
Score: 2500
Posts: 3,387
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 4th Apr, 2011 12:31
Hello @leudke ,

Excuse my interruption , but posting raw log data from the PSI as you have done can/might expose confidential data ; Secunia advise strictly against posting any log data here on a public forum .

If this bothers you , you should contact support@secunia.com by email .

Your problem would appear to be one of the psia.exe and/or the sua.exe not connecting to the Secunia servers . The FAQ that Mogs refers you to includes details ensuring these processes are loaded and enabled and can pass thru' your firewall/security , as in :-

""""If this has still not allowed you to open the PSI, please go to Start > Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Services and ensure that both the 'Secunia PSI Agent' and 'Secunia Update Agent' services are set to 'Started' under status and 'Automatic' under 'Startup type' """"

I'll leave you with Mogs .

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
leudke RE: Scan Not Working
Member 11th Apr, 2011 01:14
Score: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 4th Apr 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
I have reviewed and re-reviewed all of the suggestions on the website / forums and have not found a resolution to this problem. I posted my log file and don't feel that there is a security issue with this. I was just hoping that this info might help someone to help me fix this issue.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Scan Not Working
Expert Contributor 11th Apr, 2011 17:23
Score: 2500
Posts: 3,387
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

@leudke ,

In the absence of Mogs and even at the risk of seeming pedantic , if you take an interest in security by downloading and trying to run the PSI , be assured that , whatever "you" may feel , my suggestion to contact Secunia support is not for my benefit but entirely for your's .

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
leudke RE: Scan Not Working
Member 11th Apr, 2011 17:39
Score: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 4th Apr 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
Anthony:
Thank you for your reply. I have already contacted secunia support and so far no one has been able to help me.
If I get a solution, I will post it here for everyone's benefit.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Scan Not Working
Expert Contributor 11th Apr, 2011 17:45
Score: 2500
Posts: 3,387
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

It is the security angle which needs cleaning up ; if it were me , I would send a follow up email marked for the attention of Morten Hansen and reference this thread - he is likely gone for the day (CET) so you'll need to wait for his reply tomorrow .

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
leudke RE: Scan Not Working
Member 11th Apr, 2011 18:12
Score: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 4th Apr 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
Thanks - I'll do that.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Scan Not Working
Handling Contributor 11th Apr, 2011 18:34
Score: 12099
Posts: 9,392
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 11th Apr, 2011 18:51
@leudbe,
Do U want your log file removing - I can do it but it will remove the thread.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1607 Build 14393.447
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
leudke RE: Scan Not Working
Member 11th Apr, 2011 19:42
Score: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 4th Apr 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
Sure - go ahead. I'm not getting a solution anyway, and it might be better if I just correspond via email. Thanks.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Scan Not Working
Expert Contributor 11th Apr, 2011 20:52
Score: 2500
Posts: 3,387
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

You can always open a new thread withoutany log files :)) if you want further advice from the Forum .

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
leudke RE: Scan Not Working
Member 11th Apr, 2011 21:04
Score: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 4th Apr 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
This can be closed. It was a setting under internet options / connections / lan settings. Automatically detect settings should be selected.
My scans work now!!!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0