Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Error on dashboard with no scan data

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
randomrhythm Error on dashboard with no scan data
Member 5th Apr, 2011 04:32
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 5th Apr, 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 5th Apr, 2011 04:37

Thought I would share with Secunia that the PSI software generates an error if you stop the initial scan and then click to the dashboard:

1. Install Secunia PSI
2. Stop the initial scan that auto-starts when you open the software
3. Click the dashboard link
4. Error appears on the screen with big red X

Error: TypeError
Function: util.switchPage
File: undefined
Line: undefined
Description 'length' is null or not an object

Regards,

Ryan

Maurice Joyce RE: Error on dashboard with no scan data
Handling Contributor 5th Apr, 2011 10:54
Score: 11726
Posts: 8,970
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Ryan,
I will include this as outlined in my post here:

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/800...

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
portugalpete RE: Error on dashboard with no scan data
Member 6th Apr, 2011 12:50
Score: 1
Posts: 3
User Since: 6th Apr 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: PT
I have exactly the same problem, but unfortunately it has not disappeared after re-booting. Does anyone know how to recover from this please?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
r2d2antics RE: Error on dashboard with no scan data
Member 6th Apr, 2011 12:56
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 22nd Jul 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 6th Apr, 2011 12:50, portugalpete wrote:
I have exactly the same problem, but unfortunately it has not disappeared after re-booting. Does anyone know how to recover from this please?



Glad i'm not the only one this has happened to. What is being done to resolve the issue?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
rd52 RE: Error on dashboard with no scan data
Member 6th Apr, 2011 13:09
Score: 5
Posts: 36
User Since: 4th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I'm having the same problem. I ran a scan, but I still have a system score of zero.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Kamares1 RE: Error on dashboard with no scan data
Member 6th Apr, 2011 13:12
Score: 1
Posts: 2
User Since: 14th Mar 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have exactly the same error but I did not stop the scan.

There are no programs listed at all.

Re-loading PSI does not help.

Kamares
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Greatdane RE: Error on dashboard with no scan data
Member 6th Apr, 2011 13:22
Score: -1
Posts: 11
User Since: 9th Sep 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 6th Apr, 2011 13:25
This seems to me to be a PSI problem as the same is true of me, outside the USA.
Hope they solve it quicky - it's a first in my experience!
Even deleted the last program dodwnloaded and rebooted without getting a scan result.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
bryanvail RE: Error on dashboard with no scan data
Member 6th Apr, 2011 13:29
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 6th Apr 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Exactly the same issue as first poster (randomrhythym)

was previously running PSI successfully for well over a year without error.

Have Win 7 premium 64 bit
vaio VPCZ1 8gb ram
usually run chrome browser
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
MrImportant RE: Error on dashboard with no scan data
Member 6th Apr, 2011 13:33
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 14th Dec 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Same problem here. Rebooted and re-scanned. I am a long time user of Secunia PSI and this is the 1st time with this problem. I would expect that Secunia will apply a fix ASAP.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
stije RE: Error on dashboard with no scan data
Member 6th Apr, 2011 13:42
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 20th Dec 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Suddenly today on my pc (Windows 7 SP1) the same happened, and the same errors appeared. Hope there will be a solution very soon, because I relied on PSI!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
thosj RE: Error on dashboard with no scan data
Member 6th Apr, 2011 13:45
Score: 1
Posts: 6
User Since: 3rd Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
5 PC's here, and this morning they all exhibit this exact same behavior. Must have been some kind of update overnight to have all 5 do the same thing.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
phb_7 RE: Error on dashboard with no scan data
Member 6th Apr, 2011 13:49
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 6th Apr 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Same error here with Win 7 64. This error immediately followed "update" to Internet Explorer 9, so I'm guessing that an incompatibility has been introduced. Imagine my surprise!

No doubt Secunia will fix this fairly rapidly.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Nightmare21 RE: Error on dashboard with no scan data
Member 6th Apr, 2011 13:50
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 6th Nov 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Exact same problem. This only happened after installed an update for Internet Explorer 9. Could be a coincidence, but I thought I'd mention it.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
sporkinum2 RE: Error on dashboard with no scan data
Member 6th Apr, 2011 14:01
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 31st Jul 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Same issue here, and it correlates with updating IE to IE9.
Before I came to that conclusion, I tried re-installing PSI.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
klimmbimm RE: Error on dashboard with no scan data
Member 6th Apr, 2011 14:03
Score: 2
Posts: 5
User Since: 3rd Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: DE
Same problem here with Windows 7 Professional (Service Pack 1) 64-Bit.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
thosj RE: Error on dashboard with no scan data
Member 6th Apr, 2011 14:26
Score: 1
Posts: 6
User Since: 3rd Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have had the release version of IE9 since release and everything worked 'til today. Of my 5 computers, I have Win7 32 and 64 systems. So it AIN'T obviously related to any single one of those things. Every one of mine are hosed today. All IE9 release, all Win7, some 32, one 64 bit.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ram5thwheel RE: Error on dashboard with no scan data
Member 6th Apr, 2011 14:31
Score: 0
Posts: 20
User Since: 24th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I have the same problem also. I have a dual boot system and PSI seemed to be working on my XPSP3 OS. It fails to work on my Win7 SP1 (32 bit) system. I downloaded and reinstalled PSI with the same results. I am running Firefox 4 as well as IE9 but it has been weeks since installing them. Nothing has changed yet PSI shows no programs scanned and errors when attempting to go to dashboard.

--
Thank You

Peter (Mike) Meyers

System Info:
Windows 7 SP1 (32 bit) Intel Core 2 CPU / Dell XPS 410
6400 @ 2.13 Ghz
4.00 GB RAM (3.00 GB usable)
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
techguys RE: Error on dashboard with no scan data
Member 6th Apr, 2011 14:36
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 6th Apr 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 6th Apr, 2011 14:38
Have the same issue issue on any XP/SP3, fully updated PCs. Version 1 worked perfectly with no issues. I have now installed/uninstalled PSI v2.0 six or seven times, hoping they would fix it over the last 3-4 months. Same errors always. It's not MSSE because I uninstalled that also. No other scanning software on machine and firewall was turned off in testing several times. Again 1.0 worked great. Very curious why they don't even attempt to fix this or resolve the issue.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
donalmur RE: Error on dashboard with no scan data
Member 6th Apr, 2011 15:04
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 23rd Apr 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: IE
Last edited on 6th Apr, 2011 15:08
Just noticed this today, got the 0% and this message:

(unknown source)

Error: TypeError
Function: util.switchPage
File: undefined
Line: undefined
Description: 'length' is null or not an object


Also uninstalled, downloaded version:2.0.0.3001.

Same thing after reinstalling...

How to solve this problem?

My system:

Windows 7 Home Premium( 64-bit), Version 6.1 (Build 7601: Service Pack 1).
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
jmaw424 RE: Error on dashboard with no scan data
Member 6th Apr, 2011 15:47
Score: -2
Posts: 2
User Since: 6th Apr 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 6th Apr, 2011 15:51
I am also receiving same message with Vista home premium 64 bit:

Error: TypeError
Function: util.switchPage
File: undefined
Line: undefined
Description 'length' is null or not an object

psi runs scan and returns no files. I had IE9 installed ( not by choice ) on the last update. I use firefox as my browser.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-1
Leendert Kip Error on dashboard with no scan data
Member 6th Apr, 2011 15:57
Score: 70
Posts: 526
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
on 6th Apr, 2011 15:47, jmaw424 wrote:
I am also receiving same message with Vista home premium 64 bit:psi runs scan and returns no files. I had IE9 installed ( not by choice ) on the last update. I use firefox as my browser.

I just ran a manual scan. The problem is solved!


--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-1
Greatdane RE: Error on dashboard with no scan data
Member 6th Apr, 2011 16:09
Score: -1
Posts: 11
User Since: 9th Sep 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I'm using Window XP/sp3 and when all else failed, found a solution to share with you.
Go to this site, scroll down to see the important response, then uninstall psi and go to link (minimize the page you're on while uninstalling. It worked for me.

http://forums.comcast.com/t5/Security-and-Anti-Vir...
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-1
thosj RE: Error on dashboard with no scan data
Member 6th Apr, 2011 16:17
Score: 1
Posts: 6
User Since: 3rd Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
It seemed to fix itself here now, too, at least on ONE computer. I'll check the others.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-1
Anthony Wells RE: Error on dashboard with no scan data
Expert Contributor 6th Apr, 2011 16:36
Score: 2437
Posts: 3,327
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A


Hi ,

Most if not all of you posting do not have the OP's bug as discussed with Maurice Joyce ; your problems result from a Secunia server problem .

My system is now fixed as at 16.00hrs CET in the South of France ; in my case the PSI automatically reset to "normal" when I opened the PSI from a red tray icon : you may need to run a manual scan .

This does not guarantee that your server location is fixed , merely that Secunia are working on the problem :))

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-1
jmaw424 RE: Error on dashboard with no scan data
Member 6th Apr, 2011 16:43
Score: -2
Posts: 2
User Since: 6th Apr 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
thanks for update. can't check yet as wife using computer
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-1
Kamares1 RE: Error on dashboard with no scan data
Member 6th Apr, 2011 16:44
Score: 1
Posts: 2
User Since: 14th Mar 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Agreed, problem solved itself.

Kamares
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-1
Anthony Wells RE: Error on dashboard with no scan data
Expert Contributor 6th Apr, 2011 16:47
Score: 2437
Posts: 3,327
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hello again ,

You should read this thread and scroll down to see the post from Morten Hansen , Secunia official) about tomorrow's repeat of the problem :-

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/802...

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-1

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability