Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Internet Explorer 9 is slow, and is not working at all

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Microsoft
And, this specific program:
Microsoft Internet Explorer 9.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
topper Internet Explorer 9 is slow, and is not working at all
Member 5th Apr, 2011 23:18
Ranking: 0
Posts: 12
User Since: 25th Jan, 2009
System Score: 91%
Location: NL
I have had Internet Explorer Beta, and afterwards I installed the new release of IE9, but it is not working properly, and very slow. I can't go to another site for example. The next page stays empty.
I saw in PSI that IE9 is loading 18 plugins.....! but still Secunia says everything is secure and patched. ?
What to do?

--
Topper

Maurice Joyce RE: Internet Explorer 9 is slow, and is not working at all
Handling Contributor 5th Apr, 2011 23:39
Score: 11723
Posts: 8,968
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
What versions of Windows are U running & how much RAM have U got?

I assume U are using a broadband connection? What is its normal average speed?


--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
topper RE: Internet Explorer 9 is slow, and is not working at all
Member 5th Apr, 2011 23:54
Score: 0
Posts: 12
User Since: 25th Jan 2009
System Score: 91%
Location: NL
Last edited on 6th Apr, 2011 00:02
Hello Maurice,

I have Windows Vista Home Premium 32bit, SP2, 3Gb RAM. If I use Safari as browser to the internet, it goes good and very quickly. IE9 is to slow. It is a DSL-connection, and fast.


--
Topper
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Internet Explorer 9 is slow, and is not working at all
Handling Contributor 6th Apr, 2011 00:10
Score: 11723
Posts: 8,968
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Interesting - I am currently repairing a Vista PC. Same sort of reponse as U.

Only difference appears to be RAM - this one only has 1GB which is as much use as a "chocolate fireguard".

I am still working on this issue & will post back if I find a cause other than an underpowered PC.

It is extremely fast on this PC so it is clearly an end user issue.

Have U customised the add-ons & set up?


--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
topper RE: Internet Explorer 9 is slow, and is not working at all
Member 6th Apr, 2011 08:15
Score: 0
Posts: 12
User Since: 25th Jan 2009
System Score: 91%
Location: NL
Hello Maurice,

no, I did not. I had McAfee site adviser, and disabled this. I disabled what I could, but still the browser is slow, and unable to serve to another page. This is annoying, so now I use Safari.
I tried to install it another time, to "repair"it, but that helped nothing at all. Instead the program changed my starter-site to MSN.



--
Topper
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Internet Explorer 9 is slow, and is not working at all
Handling Contributor 7th Apr, 2011 00:01
Score: 11723
Posts: 8,968
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Topper
After a good deal of testing not sure my problem with the Vista PC I am repairing is the same as yours.

Surprised to hear IE9 is not running well with 3GB of RAM & fast broadband.

If the settings are fine have U installed any third party toolbars?

My Vista has only 1GB of RAM. It takes over 2 minutes to complete a PSI scan so not expecting too much from IE9!

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
ddmarshall RE: Internet Explorer 9 is slow, and is not working at all
Dedicated Contributor 7th Apr, 2011 01:12
Score: 1208
Posts: 960
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
I found checking Use software rendering instead of GPU rendering in the Advanced Tab of Internet Options could be an improvement. Internet Explorer seems to work this out for itself though.

Have you tried running Internet Explorer (No-Addons)?

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability