navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Install: error opening sua.exe

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
trezac Install: error opening sua.exe
Member 10th Apr, 2011 22:08
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 10th Apr, 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I wanted to update to the newest version of PSI. Downloaded it from your primary location. It uninstalled my previous version. After the "choose install location" window, it went to "installing" and immediately said "error opening file for writing: C:\Program Files\Secunia\PSI\sua.exe." I aborted the install. Tried downloading from your alternate location, but get same results. Win XP SP3, Firefox 4.

mogs RE: Install: error opening sua.exe
Expert Contributor 10th Apr, 2011 22:44
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello.
Did you try clearing out temp. files/browser cache beforehand ? Have you read thro' the more recent FAQ's here :-
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...
And particularly the settings/configurations here :-
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal... towards the end of these there are those more especial for XP.
Don't know what version you've upgraded from; but it has often been the case that a leap from one of the earlier versions has resulted in problems.....particularly when coupled with XP.
After ensuring that your settings are right and having cleared temp. files; try downloading from ftp://ftp.secunia.com/PSISetup.exe and let it remove the previous version.......hope this does help......regards,

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
trezac RE: Install: error opening sua.exe
Member 11th Apr, 2011 13:01
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 10th Apr 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Thanks for the suggestions. I did read all that in the FAQs. It turned out that the PSI process was still running from the previous time I opened it. I ended the process in Task Manager, and then the install ran ok.

Incidentally, I'm running XP and did have to "Turn off advanced text services" so the PSI window would stay visible.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+