Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: PSI freeze at launch

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Salokyn PSI freeze at launch
Member 6th Dec, 2008 19:05
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 6th Dec, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Hi,

I've just installed PSI on my computer (WindowsXP SP3). When I lauch it I get the window "Please wait while network connectivity is verified." then 2 seconds later the scrolling bar stops : PSI has frozen and do not respond anymore.

I followed the FAQ suggestion about "Please wait" problem but nothin changed.

Do you have any clue ?

Agent_Smith RE: PSI freeze at launch
Member 6th Dec, 2008 21:51
Score: 0
Posts: 14
User Since: 6th Dec 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: AR
Sounds like the issue I once had, do you have a personal firewall? If so ensure to add a rule for PSI.

I also have had to use the "Reload Interface" when my WiFi has been sluggish, just right click the tray icon to do this.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Salokyn RE: PSI freeze at launch
Member 6th Dec, 2008 23:24
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 6th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I only have the Windows' firewall. I tried with a new rule but it change nothing.

I even cannot access the tray icon menu, PSI crashes too quickly.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
harusp3x RE: PSI freeze at launch
Member 7th Mar, 2009 04:47
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 7th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I am having this same problem. It doesn't seem to be an issue with a Firewall, as I even disabled it completely before launching PSI. Upon launch of PSI, I am greeted with the message "Please wait while network connectivity is verified.", and the progress bar is animated momentarily before becoming completely unresponsive. Windows Task Manager does not indicate that the program is not responding, but PSI never seems to recover.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
rlegan RE: PSI freeze at launch
Member 26th Mar, 2009 12:08
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 26th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 26th Mar, 2009 12:09
Add "Me too". I've enjoyed using PSI, but since installing the latest update, it just freezes on trying to verify the connection and crashes, or Blue screens.....

Hope Secunia is interested in fixing this problem because I sure would like to continue using it.

Randy
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
M.Hansen RE: PSI freeze at launch
Secunia Official 26th Mar, 2009 12:51
Score: 188
Posts: 410
User Since: 26th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Hi!

We would like people who experience this problem to do the following:

1. Exit the PSI by rightclicking the PSI icon in the tray (by the clock)

2. Go to: Start->Run-> Type in: CMD

3. A "black box" appears, type in: psi.exe --verbose --debug secunia.txt

The PSI will start and will create a .txt file.

Please mail the following to support@secunia.com:

The txt file
Any screendumps you would find relevant
Error messages,
Windows version

--
Kind regards,

Morten Hansen
Secunia PSI Support

Secunia PSI
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal
wr RE: PSI freeze at launch
Contributor 26th Mar, 2009 15:10
Score: 308
Posts: 736
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
I know the following guide is in response to doing a scan, but it might not hurt to double check your internet settings.
You could try this:
The Secunia PSI needs to be able to connect to Secunia servers to complete its scanning. However, if you have configured
the security settings of your Internet Explorer, the Secunia PSI may be prevented from getting the scan results. To receive
your scan results, you need to do some changes to your Internet options.
To do this:
a. Open Internet Explorer.
b. Go to Tools>Internet Options>Security tab.
c. Select the Internet zone and click on the Custom Level button.
d. In Security Settings, go to the Scripting>Active Scripting option.
e. Make sure that Active Scripting is Enabled (rather than Disabled or Prompted).
f. Press OK then Yes.
g. Back in the Security tab, select the Trusted sites zone and click on the Sites button.
h. Look at the bottom of the page and take the tick from the box marked"Require server verification(HTTPS)for all site zones" then type in the following and press the Add button to add them to the Trusted Zone Sites list:
http:*.secunia.com
https:*.secunia.com
i. Press Close
j. Run the Secunia PSI again to view the scan results
Both sites will now be OK
Good luck & regards,
wr


--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Underlien RE: PSI freeze at launch
Member 30th Mar, 2009 15:05
Score: 0
Posts: 95
User Since: 4th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: DK
Also remember that to use the PSI you need to be connected to the Internet (God im glad i dont have dial-up)


Underlien
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
jjulius50 RE: PSI freeze at launch
Member 27th May, 2009 20:25
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 27th May 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have the described issue and I tried creating a debug file and get the message:

'psi.exe' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program, or batch file.

I also made the changes in Internet Explorer that were suggested, but, this did not resolve the freeze. Any suggestions for resolving these issues.

Thank you



on 26th Mar, 2009 12:51, M.Hansen wrote:
Hi!

We would like people who experience this problem to do the following:

1. Exit the PSI by rightclicking the PSI icon in the tray (by the clock)

2. Go to: Start->Run-> Type in: CMD

3. A "black box" appears, type in: psi.exe --verbose --debug secunia.txt

The PSI will start and will create a .txt file.

Please mail the following to support@secunia.com:

The txt file
Any screendumps you would find relevant
Error messages,
Windows version

--
Kind regards,

Morten Hansen
Secunia PSI Support

Secunia PSI
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
MJE50 RE: PSI freeze at launch
Member 4th Jul, 2009 06:09
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 4th Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 27th May, 2009 20:25, jjulius50 wrote:
I have the described issue and I tried creating a debug file and get the message:

'psi.exe' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program, or batch file.

I also made the changes in Internet Explorer that were suggested, but, this did not resolve the freeze. Any suggestions for resolving these issues.

Thank you


I have had the exact same experience.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer