Forum Thread: program shows patched but plugin shows insecure

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
rockh12000 program shows patched but plugin shows insecure
Member 25th Apr, 2011 22:08
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 25th Apr, 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I use VLC media player. PSI shows it to be patched to the latest version. However the plugins are reported as being insecure for all 3 browsers I have on my system. Can someone tell me what's going on?

AMD Turion
2gb ram
80 Gb hd
XP SP3

Last scan 4/25/2011 @ 1500 CDT

Post "RE: program shows patched but plugin shows insecure" has been selected as an answer.
Maurice Joyce RE: program shows patched but plugin shows insecure
Handling Contributor 25th Apr, 2011 22:12
Score: 11919
Posts: 9,131
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Details of this can be found on these threads. Good idea to take note of what Anthony Wells is saying:

http://secunia.com/community/forum/?forum=2&vendor...

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
rockh12000 RE: program shows patched but plugin shows insecure
Member 25th Apr, 2011 22:42
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 25th Apr 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Guess I'll have to uninstall VLC. It's a shame, cuse I really liked it.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: program shows patched but plugin shows insecure
Expert Contributor 26th Apr, 2011 12:19
Score: 2468
Posts: 3,356
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi ,

If you read the indicated threads carefully , you will see that only Firefox and any other browser which uses the Mozilla/NPAPI plug-in is actually vulnerable to the insecurity ; hence the "Mozilla" plug-in is not selected at the "default" installation settings .

There is no need to uninstall the VLC PLayer , just do not change the installation default setting for the plug-ins if you do not know what you are doing .

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+5
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.