Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Why doesn't Secunia PSI auto update itself?

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
claykin Why doesn't Secunia PSI auto update itself?
Member 27th Apr, 2011 05:35
Ranking: 1
Posts: 7
User Since: 13th Nov, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
PSI auto updates Flash, Java, Acrobat, etc. but it won't auto update itself. Why?

mogs RE: Why doesn't Secunia PSI auto update itself?
Expert Contributor 27th Apr, 2011 06:29
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello.
Because each version is secure in itself, and many users prefer to make the choice for themselves. Remember that psi only offers and auto updates programs when the update patches a security issue....therefore, earlier versions that are secure are okay.
The core detection engine within each of the psi versions is fundamentally the same.
Hope this answers your question clearly enough.......regards,

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Why doesn't Secunia PSI auto update itself?
Member 27th Apr, 2011 14:06
Hi,

The Secunia PSI as a rule only updates programs (automatically or otherwise) if the version we would install fixes a security issue.

However, for some major updates of the PSI, we do provide a general update. This does not reflect on the security status of the PSI, but on the usability of older versions.

Minor updates, though, are not pushed automatically through the PSI.

Hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
pratnala2010 RE: Why doesn't Secunia PSI auto update itself?
Member 29th Apr, 2011 08:43
Score: 1
Posts: 38
User Since: 13th Nov 2009
System Score: 89%
Location: IN
on 27th Apr, 2011 14:06, wrote:
Hi,

The Secunia PSI as a rule only updates programs (automatically or otherwise) if the version we would install fixes a security issue.

However, for some major updates of the PSI, we do provide a general update. This does not reflect on the security status of the PSI, but on the usability of older versions.

Minor updates, though, are not pushed automatically through the PSI.

Hope this helps.


What is the latest version of PSI?

--
PC -
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Basic Service Pack 1
Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 2.0 GHz
2GB RAM
Kaspersky Internet Security 2012
Secunia PSI 2.0.0.3003

Laptop -

Microsoft Windows 7 Home Basic Service Pack 1
Intel Pentium Dual Core T4400 2.2 GHz
3GB RAM
Kaspersky Internet Security 2012
Secunia PSI 2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Why doesn't Secunia PSI auto update itself?
Handling Contributor 29th Apr, 2011 08:49
Score: 11743
Posts: 9,000
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Version 2.0.0.3003. U can check this by right clicking on the PSI Tasktray icon>about

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability