Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Data Dynamics ActiveBar ActiveX Control "SetLayoutData()" Vulnera...

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Vulnerabilities

See the original Secunia advisory:
Data Dynamics ActiveBar ActiveX Control "SetLayoutData()" Vulnerability

Secunia Data Dynamics ActiveBar ActiveX Control "SetLayoutData()" Vulnerability
Secunia Official 2nd May, 2011 23:52
Ranking: 0
Posts: 0
User Since: -
System Score: -
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Parvez Anwar has discovered a vulnerability in Data Dynamics ActiveBar ActiveX Control, which can be exploited by malicious people to compromise a user's system.

The vulnerability is caused due to an error when handling the "SetLayoutData()" method and can be exploited to perform a virtual function call into an arbitrary memory location via a specially crafted "Data" argument.

Successful exploitation allows execution of arbitrary code.

The vulnerability is confirmed in version 1.0.6.5. Other versions may also be affected.

stewe54

RE: Data Dynamics ActiveBar ActiveX Control "SetLayoutData()" Vulnerability
[+]
This reply has been minimised due to a negative Relevancy Score.

mrkorb

RE: Data Dynamics ActiveBar ActiveX Control "SetLayoutData()" Vulnerability
[+]
This reply has been minimised due to a negative Relevancy Score.
stewe54 RE: Data Dynamics ActiveBar ActiveX Control "SetLayoutData()" Vulnerability
Member 3rd May, 2011 00:51
Score: -12
Posts: 3
User Since: 3rd Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 3rd May, 2011 00:51
How do I "Set the kill-bit for the affected ActiveX control"?
Was this reply relevant?
+5
-6

stewe54

RE: Data Dynamics ActiveBar ActiveX Control "SetLayoutData()" Vulnerability
[+]
This reply has been minimised due to a negative Relevancy Score.
Moonwink RE: Data Dynamics ActiveBar ActiveX Control "SetLayoutData()" Vulnerability
Member 24th May, 2011 21:33
Score: 0
Posts: 14
User Since: 26th Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 24th May, 2011 21:33
Who you going to believe?

I checked with Legacy about this alert and got the reply below today:

Secunia Personal Software Inspector (PSI) does flag Actbar.OCX as an old file; however Legacy still uses it. As you found out, if you delete or rename it Legacy won't work any longer and will have to be reinstalled. Actbar.OCX is not a security risk. Please don't worry about what PSI says about it.

Sincerely,
Sherry
Technical Support
Legacy Family Tree
Was this reply relevant?
+8
-8
StephN RE: Data Dynamics ActiveBar ActiveX Control "SetLayoutData()" Vulnerability
Member 25th Dec, 2011 08:26
Score: 1
Posts: 1
User Since: 25th Dec 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Thank you. I, too, have Legacy Family Tree. Your inquiry and posting saved me the trouble.

Has anyone asked Data Dynamics about fixing the problem?
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Moonwink RE: Data Dynamics ActiveBar ActiveX Control "SetLayoutData()" Vulnerability
Member 26th Nov, 2013 17:44
Score: 0
Posts: 14
User Since: 26th Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 26th Nov, 2013 17:50
Legacy has released the long awaited v8.0 update to their Family Tree line. v8 is a complete new install - not an upgrade. You'll need to uninstall v7.5 after converting your data file to the new format - it asks if you want to make a ZIP of your old data file before it upgrades it. When uninstalling v7.5, ActiveBar is removed. Finally! back to 100% again!

Here's link to download the new free version of Legacy Family Tree v8.0: http://www.legacyfamilytree.com/DownloadLegacy.asp...

ActiveBar was upgraded by it's maker to version 3 before all support was discontinued but installing v3 doesn't integrate it into Legacy Family Tree and ActBar.ocx isn't touched by the install. Best/easiest solution is to upgrade to v8 and uninstall previous version of Legacy - be prepared for a whole new look afterwards.
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-0


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Factsheets
Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability