Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Secunia PSI reports a vulnerability in IE6, but I have IE7 installed

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Microsoft
And, this specific program:
Microsoft Internet Explorer 6.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
Loopie Secunia PSI reports a vulnerability in IE6, but I have IE7 installed
Member 10th Dec, 2008 05:38
Ranking: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 10th Dec, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
PSI reports a vulnerability in IE6, but I have IE7 installed. How do I fix it?

Loopie

A.C. RE: Secunia PSI reports a vulnerability in IE6, but I have IE7 installed
Member 10th Dec, 2008 09:37
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 30th Oct 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 10th Dec, 2008 05:38, Loopie wrote:
PSI reports a vulnerability in IE6, but I have IE7 installed. How do I fix it?

Loopie

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
A.C. RE: Secunia PSI reports a vulnerability in IE6, but I have IE7 installed
Member 10th Dec, 2008 09:38
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 30th Oct 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 10th Dec, 2008 09:38
on 10th Dec, 2008 05:38, Loopie wrote:
PSI reports a vulnerability in IE6, but I have IE7 installed. How do I fix it?

Loopie

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Secunia PSI reports a vulnerability in IE6, but I have IE7 installed
Member 10th Dec, 2008 09:57
What Service Pack do you have installed?

If SP2 then install SP3 with Windows Update by going to Tools then Windows Update.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mscperu1 RE: Secunia PSI reports a vulnerability in IE6, but I have IE7 installed
Member 13th Dec, 2008 03:19
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 2nd Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Greetings.

I get the same message in the same situationn
and have installed SP3 and have re-scanned with PSI.
Same result
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Loopie RE: Secunia PSI reports a vulnerability in IE6, but I have IE7 installed
Member 13th Dec, 2008 05:10
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 10th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
SP3 fixed it. Thanks

Loopie
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mscperu RE: Secunia PSI reports a vulnerability in IE6, but I have IE7 installed
Member 13th Dec, 2008 16:01
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 24th Jun 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Good for you!

How about me.

Oh, I forgot.

I've another string:

Microsoft XP Professional as insecure.
Downloaded the last patches.

Same answer

Greetings
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Secunia PSI reports a vulnerability in IE6, but I have IE7 installed
Member 13th Dec, 2008 20:07
mscperu, I am running XP Professional SP3 and it is reported as fully patched.

What is the location of the reported file or files?

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mscperu RE: Secunia PSI reports a vulnerability in IE6, but I have IE7 installed
Member 14th Dec, 2008 02:55
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 24th Jun 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Thank you for reacting.

Sorry. I'm a poor amateur.
So please tell me how I can find that location?

Thanks
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Secunia PSI reports a vulnerability in IE6, but I have IE7 installed
Member 14th Dec, 2008 03:09
on 14th Dec, 2008 02:55, mscperu wrote:
Thank you for reacting.

Sorry. I'm a poor amateur.
So please tell me how I can find that location?

Thanks

Open PSI then go to Advanced then Insecure which will show you the location of the offending programs.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
E.Jeppesen RE: Secunia PSI reports a vulnerability in IE6, but I have IE7 installed
Secunia Official 17th Dec, 2008 12:43
Score: 220
Posts: 618
User Since: 24th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Last edited on 17th Dec, 2008 12:45
on 14th Dec, 2008 02:55, mscperu wrote:

So please tell me how I can find that location?


The Secunia PSI can always tell you exactly what it has detected and where it is. In many cases that will give you a clue to why the PSI is detecting what it is. To see the detected file you can always simply hover the cursor over its entry in the PSI. And if you use the advanced interface you can also expand the entries in the PSI and then use the buttons Technical details and Open Folder.

If you have a program that do not show up in Ad/Remove Programs and do not seem possible to uninstall, you can contact the vendor of the program for advice.
svendw RE: Secunia PSI reports a vulnerability in IE6, but I have IE7 installed
Member 9th Jan, 2009 17:36
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 9th May 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 10th Dec, 2008 05:38, Loopie wrote:
PSI reports a vulnerability in IE6, but I have IE7 installed. How do I fix it?

Loopie

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ak203 RE: Secunia PSI reports a vulnerability in IE6, but I have IE7 installed
Member 10th Mar, 2009 19:38
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 8th Mar 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 10th Dec, 2008 05:38, Loopie wrote:
PSI reports a vulnerability in IE6, but I have IE7 installed. How do I fix it?

Loopie

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability