Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: After deleting an application it is still in the list

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
holtermann After deleting an application it is still in the list
Member 9th May, 2011 12:26
Ranking: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 9th May, 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: DK
An application detected as out of date and then deleted is still in the list of applications

davidows RE: After deleting an application it is still in the list
Member 9th May, 2011 16:07
Score: 16
Posts: 30
User Since: 24th Apr 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Have you double-clicked on the listing, then selected Re-Scan Program? If you don't have Program Monitoring enabled, it won't be removed before the next weekly scan.

I have also seen that a Re-Scan won't remove an obsolete version of Google Chrome and it required a Full System Scan for that, which SHOULD NOT be necessary.

Additionally, after the newest version of Chrome has been installed, the previous version SHOULD be marked as a ZOMBIE, rather than ACTIVE installation, because it would not be invoked from a shortcut or URL.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: After deleting an application it is still in the list
Expert Contributor 9th May, 2011 18:12
Score: 2434
Posts: 3,318
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi ,

Actually , I have never found the individual programme "rescan" option terribly effective . It has been improved in more recent versions of the PSI ; some/many programmes can take a "long" time for the "update/deletion/whatever" to register .

Some updates only register after a full system scan :eg: M$ updates .

As far as Chrome is concerned , then at Platform change , the last version of the old platform is left behind permanently and the PSI identifies this as an "EOL" installation as the platform is no longer supported by Google . The "zombie" designation covers the previous/older file left behind by Google silent updates ; a currently insecure version will display as such at the top of the "Scan Results" page (if there is time ) .

The old version .dlls are technically no longer available , but better to delete them if you are at any level of paranoia :((

Hope that helps .

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability