navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Updates to PSI automatic?

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
highstream Updates to PSI automatic?
Member 17th Dec, 2008 21:35
Ranking: 6
Posts: 29
User Since: 19th Dec, 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I don't see a setting for updates and don't recall a notice for 1.0.0.3 (or .2), so I've been assuming updates are now automatic. Is that incorrect? I had 1.0.0.1 and had to manually update to 1.0.0.3 today to get PSI to open, vs. getting the IE error message (I had made the IE security workarounds yesterday).


cbeato RE: Updates to PSI automatic?
Member 17th Dec, 2008 22:04
Score: 0
Posts: 13
User Since: 13th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Donīt worry...all updates are auto,if u are online ofcourse.Otherwise u can allways do manually.:(
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
genegold99 RE: Updates to PSI automatic?
Member 17th Dec, 2008 22:12
Score: 5
Posts: 128
User Since: 25th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
on 17th Dec, 2008 22:04, cbeato wrote:
Donīt worry...all updates are auto,if u are online ofcourse.Otherwise u can allways do manually.:(


Well then, the question is why didn't mine update through two versions. I'm online quite a bit and obviously PSI loads at startup. The failure to auto-update cost me some time and needless emails a little while ago.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Lyndy23 RE: Updates to PSI automatic?
Member 17th Dec, 2008 23:06
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 2nd Sep 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have the same problem and can't find the usual "check for update" or "update your version" type of button. I don't like updating unless it is done internally as I never know if I've got to uninstall the old version first. With an internal update it tells you what you have to do. I am still on version 1.0.0.0. Any help appreciated. Thanks
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
genegold99 RE: Updates to PSI automatic?
Member 17th Dec, 2008 23:20
Score: 5
Posts: 128
User Since: 25th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
on 17th Dec, 2008 23:06, Lyndy23 wrote:
I have the same problem and can't find the usual "check for update" or "update your version" type of button. I don't like updating unless it is done internally as I never know if I've got to uninstall the old version first. With an internal update it tells you what you have to do. I am still on version 1.0.0.0. Any help appreciated. Thanks


Go to Secunia's site and download 1.0.0.3 (http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...). Close PSI from the tray, then install. The install process will prompt you to ok the uninstall, then will move onto the install.

I hope Secunia notices this thread, because if auto updates or emails telling of version updates are supposed to occur, as the latter did with the RC's, then something is amiss. I do, hwoever, get the regular "we've updated the scan list" emails.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Lyndy23 RE: Updates to PSI automatic?
Member 17th Dec, 2008 23:28
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 2nd Sep 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Thank you, Genegold, I'll do that.

My christmas wishes to everyone on the site.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
E.Jeppesen RE: Updates to PSI automatic?
Secunia Official 18th Dec, 2008 13:18
Score: 220
Posts: 618
User Since: 24th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
The latest versions of the Secunia PSI have addressed specific issues that are not relevant for the majority of PSI-users. For this reason we have decided not to bug you with information about these new versions. When we launch a new version that is relevant for the majority of PSI-users, you will be informed.

To find out if the latest updates to the PSI should be relevant for you, please see the PSI Changelog:
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...
Lyndy23 RE: Updates to PSI automatic?
Member 18th Dec, 2008 13:26
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 2nd Sep 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have the latest version now and after doing a scan, all is fine, thank you
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
genegold99 RE: Updates to PSI automatic?
Member 18th Dec, 2008 15:19
Score: 5
Posts: 128
User Since: 25th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
on 18th Dec, 2008 13:18, E.Jeppesen wrote:
The latest versions of the Secunia PSI have addressed specific issues that are not relevant for the majority of PSI-users. For this reason we have decided not to bug you with information about these new versions. When we launch a new version that is relevant for the majority of PSI-users, you will be informed.

To find out if the latest updates to the PSI should be relevant for you, please see the PSI Changelog:
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

I understand the sentiment. However, how does one know if they belong to the minority if there's no notice?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
jaroslava RE: Updates to PSI automatic?
Member 18th Dec, 2008 15:49
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 24th Jun 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 17th Dec, 2008 21:35, highstream wrote:
I don't see a setting for updates and don't recall a notice for 1.0.0.3 (or .2), so I've been assuming updates are now automatic. Is that incorrect? I had 1.0.0.1 and had to manually update to 1.0.0.3 today to get PSI to open, vs. getting the IE error message (I had made the IE security workarounds yesterday).


Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
CFischer RE: Updates to PSI automatic?
Member 21st Dec, 2008 21:30
Score: 0
Posts: 19
User Since: 22nd Dec 2007
System Score: 95%
Location: AT
In the last time it happens very often that a user is posting only a quote reply without any comments. Maybe it would be helpful to add a "delete" function for your own comments to correct this issue.
Otherwise someone should delete these "unnecessary" postings!

--
Together we can reach any star!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+