navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: firefox 5

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Mozilla Foundation
And, this specific program:
Mozilla Firefox 5.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
refishman567 firefox 5
Member 21st Jun, 2011 12:47
Ranking: 1
Posts: 8
User Since: 11th Mar, 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 21st Jun, 2011 12:48

firefox 5 is not showing up in the secure browser area of the psi. internet explorer and chrome do but firefox does not, I recentley upgraded to firefox 5 beta and noticed that in the psi secure browsing it does not show up.? I have win 7 64
any help wouldbe appricated.

This user no longer exists RE: firefox 5
Member 21st Jun, 2011 12:53
Hi,

Please refer to this item of our FAQ:
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

Hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
klausus02 RE: firefox 5
Member 21st Jun, 2011 21:40
Score: 4
Posts: 74
User Since: 4th Feb 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: DE
on 21st Jun, 2011 12:53, wrote:
Hi,

Please refer to this item of our FAQ:
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

Hope this helps.



Hi all,

today, firefox 5 is officially released now. So it should be a stable version. Hope that psi will detect is again in the next days.

Kindly regards
klaus Junke
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Leendert Kip firefox 5
Member 21st Jun, 2011 23:30
Score: 70
Posts: 526
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Last edited on 21st Jun, 2011 23:33
Hi All, Firefox 5.0 is a beta version. According info from Mozilla it was released for beta channel channel users on June 15th. So it will not be visible in PSI. Refer to: www.mozilla.com/firefox/5.0/releasenotes.

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
m_c RE: firefox 5
Member 21st Jun, 2011 23:37
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 1st Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: DE
It is released. Take a look at http://getfirefox.com
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Leendert Kip firefox 5
Member 21st Jun, 2011 23:55
Score: 70
Posts: 526
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Hi m_c, Sorry, I was't aware that there is a dutch site so I mentioned the site from which I downloaded the 5.0 beta last week.

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: firefox 5
Handling Contributor 21st Jun, 2011 23:59
Score: 11865
Posts: 9,101
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Mozilla also claim it is a Final Release here:

http://www.mozilla.com/en-GB/firefox/channel/

Mouse over the download link clearly states it is version 5.

The trouble appears to be that the .EXE file for the version 5 release is 4.42.0.0

Until a useable version 5 file is submitted to Secunia it will not go on their database. Looks to me like Mozilla need to update their file details.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Anthony Wells RE: firefox 5
Expert Contributor 22nd Jun, 2011 00:07
Score: 2463
Posts: 3,348
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 22nd Jun, 2011 01:01
Hi ,

The internal updater in 4.0.1 has just offered me the RTM version and the .exe file is showing version # 5.0.0.4183 .(Edited this number).
This version has security fixes as per the release notes :-

http://www.mozilla.org/security/announce/

It is not yet beibg displayed by the PSI and I doubt we'll need to wait for support to return in the morning to update the detection ruled .

Trust that is clear .

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
M.Hansen RE: firefox 5
Secunia Official 22nd Jun, 2011 09:24
Score: 188
Posts: 412
User Since: 26th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Mozilla Firefox 5.x has been added to our database and should be detected by the Secunia PSI after a rescan.

Mozilla Firefox 5.x should also appear in the Secure Browsing tab if the user have it enabled.
Anthony Wells RE: firefox 5
Expert Contributor 22nd Jun, 2011 12:29
Score: 2463
Posts: 3,348
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Thank you Morten :))

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
alodia RE: firefox 5
Member 23rd Jun, 2011 11:38
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 23rd Jun 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: PH
personally if its still beta version, i dont upgrade. i dont want to be the labrat. :)
I'm still with firefox 4 though I love version 3 better. ;)

--

http://www.vacationcondorentals.ca
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: firefox 5
Expert Contributor 23rd Jun, 2011 12:05
Score: 2463
Posts: 3,348
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hello alodia ,

Firefox have changed their numbering system slightly and version 5.0 is a security update for version 4.0.1 .

Version 5.0 will be offered to you if you use the Ff's internal Help menu and select "About Firefox" ; it is not a Beta and is a security/patch update , so I would strongly suggest you install 5.0 or go back to 3.6.18 because 4.0.1 is vulnerable .

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
alodia RE: firefox 5
Member 23rd Jun, 2011 12:10
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 23rd Jun 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: PH
thanks anthony!

that's what i though. version 4.0 is really not good.


--

http://www.vacationcondorentals.ca
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+