Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Fakepath Listing for Firefox 5.0 Update

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Open Discussions

This thread has been marked as resolved.
joe schmoe Fakepath Listing for Firefox 5.0 Update
Member 21st Jun, 2011 21:49
Ranking: 38
Posts: 139
User Since: 26th Nov, 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Last edited on 21st Jun, 2011 21:54

Running XP Home Edition SP3, Secunia PSI 2.0.0.3003

Updated FF to version 5.0.

I am aware that this may not be a security update for FF.

I updated from version 4.0.1 to version 5.0, just now, and looked for the listing for Mozilla Firefox in 'Scan Results after I ran a full scan.

The number of programs listed dropped from 74 to 73.

No listing is available for FF anywhere as version 5.0 or 4.0.1.

I opened 'Scan Results'

Next, I went back to the top and opened 'Are you missing a program?' and attempted to manually enter the path for FF using the dialog box that pops up after clicking r u missing a program link? using the 'browse' function.

What I got was: C:\fakepath\firefox.exe, and a message stating I needed to add Secunia to the trusted section in IE as "https://pis.secunia.com".

This should have read: C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe., possibly without the https message appearing.

As this is wrong, I did not modify IE settings.

Secunia PSI has been working fine until now, so I think the IE settings do not need to be changed.

Advice or suggestions will be welcomed.

joe schmoe

XP Home Edition SP3 P4 2.8 2 GB RAM


EDIT: Fixed a typo in https://pis.secunia.com




--
XP Pro SP3 P4 3.2 HT 2 GB RAM Avast! 9.0.2018 AIS
Win 7 Home Pro SP1 Pentium D 2.8 3 GB RAM Avast 9.0.2018 AIS
Secunia PSI 2.0.0.3003 XP Pro 32-bit & Win 7 H Pro 64-bit

Post "RE: Fakepath Listing for Firefox 5.0 Update" has been selected as an answer.
joe schmoe RE: Fakepath Listing for Firefox 5.0 Update
Member 21st Jun, 2011 22:17
Score: 38
Posts: 139
User Since: 26th Nov 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
on 21st Jun, 2011 21:49, joe schmoe wrote:
Running XP Home Edition SP3, Secunia PSI 2.0.0.3003

Updated FF to version 5.0.

I am aware that this may not be a security update for FF.

I updated from version 4.0.1 to version 5.0, just now, and looked for the listing for Mozilla Firefox in 'Scan Results after I ran a full scan.

The number of programs listed dropped from 74 to 73.

No listing is available for FF anywhere as version 5.0 or 4.0.1.

I opened 'Scan Results'

Next, I went back to the top and opened 'Are you missing a program?' and attempted to manually enter the path for FF using the dialog box that pops up after clicking r u missing a program link? using the 'browse' function.

What I got was: C:\fakepath\firefox.exe, and a message stating I needed to add Secunia to the trusted section in IE as "https://pis.secunia.com".

This should have read: C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe., possibly without the https message appearing.

As this is wrong, I did not modify IE settings.

Secunia PSI has been working fine until now, so I think the IE settings do not need to be changed.

Advice or suggestions will be welcomed.

joe schmoe

XP Home Edition SP3 P4 2.8 2 GB RAM


EDIT: Fixed a typo in https://pis.secunia.com



Sorry. Typo in 'https:// should be https://psi.secunia.com and did not see post re Firefox 5 prior to posting.

joe

XP Home Edition SP3 P4 2.8 2 GB RAM

--
XP Pro SP3 P4 3.2 HT 2 GB RAM Avast! 9.0.2018 AIS
Win 7 Home Pro SP1 Pentium D 2.8 3 GB RAM Avast 9.0.2018 AIS
Secunia PSI 2.0.0.3003 XP Pro 32-bit & Win 7 H Pro 64-bit
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Websafe RE: Fakepath Listing for Firefox 5.0 Update
Member 21st Jun, 2011 22:39
Score: 79
Posts: 105
User Since: 24th May 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Hello Joe Schmoe,

Also on Windows XP-home SP-3, PSI 2.0.0.3001.
And also updated Firefox from 4.0.1 to 5.0.
Have been able to report the Missing Program by use of PSI (after a full scan Firefox wasn't present any more).

The Fakepath error is mentioned in the FAQ, link:
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...
The solution you can find here; link:
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...
Note that Secunia recommends to add 'https://*.secunia.com' to the Trusted Sites list.

Good luck,
Websafe.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
joe schmoe RE: Fakepath Listing for Firefox 5.0 Update
Member 21st Jun, 2011 23:59
Score: 38
Posts: 139
User Since: 26th Nov 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Websafe,

Thank you.

From reading the other posting re: Firefox 5, I gather that the most recent program update is not yet listed by Secunia.

As I had never encountered 'fakepath', I thought something was amiss.

Changes have been made to IE.

joe

XP Home Edition SP3 P4 2.8 2 GB RAM

--
XP Pro SP3 P4 3.2 HT 2 GB RAM Avast! 9.0.2018 AIS
Win 7 Home Pro SP1 Pentium D 2.8 3 GB RAM Avast 9.0.2018 AIS
Secunia PSI 2.0.0.3003 XP Pro 32-bit & Win 7 H Pro 64-bit
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Fakepath Listing for Firefox 5.0 Update
Expert Contributor 22nd Jun, 2011 00:38
Score: 2414
Posts: 3,310
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 22nd Jun, 2011 00:39
Hi Joe ,

You might have been suggesting a Beta or RC version to support . The correct version # for the full release is 5.0.0.4083 .

bjm also had your problem , like Websafe I had no problem uploading using the "missing a program" link . No doubt support will update the detection ruleswhen they are back to work tomorrow (CET) .

Take care

Anthony

NB : it is a security update and important .

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Websafe RE: Fakepath Listing for Firefox 5.0 Update
Member 22nd Jun, 2011 00:53
Score: 79
Posts: 105
User Since: 24th May 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Hello Anthony,

Downloaded Firefox 5.0 from: http://www.mozilla-europe.org/nl/
The Mozilla Firefox folder shows firefox.exe (NL-language) as version 5.0.0.4183.
You mentioned version 5.0.0.4083.
Just wondering.

Websafe.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Fakepath Listing for Firefox 5.0 Update
Expert Contributor 22nd Jun, 2011 00:59
Score: 2414
Posts: 3,310
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi ,

After close inspection (peered at screen) and overcame my number dyslexia and you are quite correct it is 5.0.0.4183 .

Most grateful for your correction :))

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
joe schmoe RE: Fakepath Listing for Firefox 5.0 Update
Member 22nd Jun, 2011 17:45
Score: 38
Posts: 139
User Since: 26th Nov 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Hello Websafe and Anthony,

All is well here at the Western front.

FF now shows as a valid program, version 5.0.0.4183.

Took Secunia a day to catch up.

You can consider the thread closed.

joe schmoe

XP Home Edition SP3 P4 2.8 3 GB RAM

--
XP Pro SP3 P4 3.2 HT 2 GB RAM Avast! 9.0.2018 AIS
Win 7 Home Pro SP1 Pentium D 2.8 3 GB RAM Avast 9.0.2018 AIS
Secunia PSI 2.0.0.3003 XP Pro 32-bit & Win 7 H Pro 64-bit
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability